Yellowstone National Park Stamp

US Postage Stamps: 1934

Yellowstone National Park Stamp

The blue five cent Yellowstone National Park stamp was issued on July 30, 1934 as part of the ten stamp National Park series.  Along with the other stamps in the series, this design is considered a classic and is very popular with stamp collectors.

Yellowstone National Park includes territory from three states, although the vast majority of the part is located in Wyoming.  The natural geology of the park produces many impressive geothermal features including the famous geyser, Old Faithful.  In addition to the geysers, the park is home to an active volcano and many of the park’s unique geological formations are due to past volcanic eruptions and lava flows.

Although only infrequently visited by Europeans until the middle 1800s, the Yellowstone region has been inhabited by Native Americans for at least 10,000 years.  The area became well known during the middle 1800s when the United States began exploring and surveying the Yellowstone region.  Books, magazines and photographs describing the natural beauty and unique geography of Yellowstone were published throughout the country and a movement to protect the area from developers grew.  Although some business interests and local residents opposed the creation of the park, in 1872 President Ulysses S. Grant signed a bill creating Yellowstone National Park, the first National Park in the United States.

Buy a Yellowstone National Park stamp for your stamp collection!

US Postage Stamps

Byrd Antarctic Expedition Souvenir Sheet
Maryland Tercentenary
Whistler's Mother / Mothers in America
Wisconsin Tercentenary
Yosemite National Park
Grand Canyon National Park

Mount Rainier National Park

Mesa Verde National Park

Yellowstone National Park

Crater Lake National Park

Acadia National Park

Zion National Park

Glacier National Park

Great Smoky Mountains National Park