Statehood: Four States Stamp

US Postage Stamps: 1939

Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota & Washington:
50th Anniversary of Statehood

Montana,North Dakota, South Dakota, Washington Statehood StampThis stamp commemorating the 50th anniversary of statehood for four states was issued on November 2, 1939. The stamp itself shows the northwestern part of the United States and includes all four states. In the future, each state would receive it's own commemorative stamp for later anniversaries.

1889 was a big year for States.  Montana North Dakota, South Dakota, Montana and Washington (the 39th, 40th, 41st, and 42nd states) all became part of the United States that year.  North and South Dakota were made states on the same day, and due to an ongoing rivalry between the two regions as to who would be the first state to join, the president shuffled the two documents confirming the territories statehood and signed the first one randomly.  Unfortunately (or fortunately!) no one ever recorded which one was signed first and to this day neither state can say with certainty it became a state first.  Generally, North Dakota is listed first, but that’s simply because it appears first in the alphabet.  Later in 1889 the Montana Territory became a state and Washington became the final state of 1889 later that year.  An interesting bit of trivia is that Washington State was originally going to be named Columbia, but the name was changed by Congress.

Buy a 50th Anniversary of Statehood stamp for your stamp collection!

US Postage Stamps

Golden Gate
International Exposition
New York World's Fair
150th Anniversary of Washington's First Inauguration
100th Anniversary of Baseball
25th Anniversary of the Panama Canal
300th Anniversary of Printing in Colonial America

50th Anniversary of Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota and Washington